Sign In

Give to Cumberland

Distinguished Alumni

2017 Distinguished Alumni Inductees
Lieutenant Colonel Gwyn M. Parris-Atwell 
Lieutenant Colonel
Gwyn M. Parris-Atwell
Stephen P. Testa, Sr.
Stephen P. Testa, Sr.
There are thousands of Rowan College of South Jersey Cumberland Campus success stories. More than 14,500 students have graduated since 1966. Formed in 1996, the Distinguished Alumni Gallery recognizes alumni who have excelled, academically and professionally.

The RCSJ-Cumberland Distinguished Alumni Gallery, with beaming portraits of the inductees, is a prominent attraction in the Frank Guaracini Jr. Fine and Performing Arts Center.

The new Distinguished Alumni are inducted at a special ceremony in the theatre on campus. The Alumni Office accepts nominations for the Distinguished Alumni honor throughout the year. The criteria to be a candidate for the honor are:

  • The nominee successfully completed a minimum of 60 semester hours at RCSJ-Cumberland.
  • The nominee is making or has made a demonstrable contribution to the community through professional achievements and/or community service.
  • The nominee is not a member of the current selection committee.
To nominate an individual for the Distinguished Alumni honor, send the individual's name, a brief description of professional achievements and community service, and the individual’s contact information to the following address:

Rowan College of South Jersey Cumberland Campus Alumni Association Office
Rowan College of South Jersey Cumberland Campus
P.O. Box 1500
Vineland, NJ 08362-1500

Please use this form​ for submissions.
Online Submission​

For more information, contact Maria Leblanc , Director II, Alumni/Foundation, 856-200-4556, or [email protected]​.

Nicholas Asselta, Assembly member, State of New Jersey 
Ella Boykin, Educator, Vineland High School
James Forcinito, Sheriff, Cumberland County
John Lore, President, Fairfield Adult Medical Center
Dr. Margaret Merkel, Clinical Director, South Jersey Hospital
Paula Ring, Executive Director, Cumberland County Homemakers

Darlene Barber, Assistant Superintendent for Business, Upper Deerfield Township Schools
Linda Dechen, Retired Business Administrator, City of Vineland
Kenneth Figgs, Program Manager, New Jersey Department of Education
Dr. Mary Gruccio, Principal, Max Leuchter Elementary School
Constance Johnson, Director of Quality Assurance, Vineland Developmental Center
Glenn Lillie, Vice-President of Marketing Communications, Claridge Casino Hotel

Joaquin Martinez, Police Captain, City of Vineland
Dr. Lorraine Sheppard, Research Plant Molecular Geneticist
Michelle TenBrook, Educator, Cumberland Regional High School
Viola Thomas, Supervisor, Work-Release Program, Bayside State Prison 

Jane Christy, Community Outreach Coordinator, Christy Funeral Home
Steve Jones, Special Agent, United States Secret Service
Dr. Cadmus Hull, Principal, Fairfield Primary School

Terry Kuhnreich, Nutritionist
Barbara Ann Logan, Medical Commander
Soraida Martinez, Artist/Designer

Dr. Babs Bennett, Educator
Linda Hruza, Educator
Bruce Peterson, Businessperson

Mayra Arroyo-Martinez, Community Leader
Kathy S. Balin, Attorney At Law
Walter N. Clements, International Security Professional
The Honorable Harold U. Johnson, Jr., Attorney - Freeholder - Judge

Michael Barruzza, Sheriff
Lousie T. Bertacchi, Service Volunteer
Patricia A. Newton, Childbirth Advocate

Joseph C. DeLuca, Educator
Leon J. Leach, Healthcare Executive
Joyce Powell, Educator/NJEA Officer

Paul J. Abrams, Retired Vice-President, Finance & Administrative Services, Cumberland County College

Norman A. Neill, Businessperson

Paul T. Clements, Ph.D., Forensic Psychiatric Specialist/Educator
James A. Rocco, Law Enforcement/Public Official 

Sandra L. Dietrich, Health Care Professional 
Jeffrey E. DuBois, President South Jersey Gas
Gladys E. Lugardo-Hemple, Community Leader

Lieutenant Colonel Gwyn M. Parris-Atwell, Family Nurse Practitioner & USAF Nurse
Stephen P. Testa, Sr., CPA