Sign In
STEM Students in classroom and in front of MEC Building

College Overview

About the President

Frederick Keating, Ed.D.
President, Rowan College South Jersey

Dr. Frederick Keating became the first president of Rowan College South Jersey on July 1, 2019, taking the helm of the new regional college following the merger of Rowan College at Gloucester County and Cumberland County College. From 2012 to 2019, he served as Rowan College at Gloucester County's seventh president.

Dr. Keating earned his Doctorate in Organizatio​nal Leadership from Wilmington University and received his Master and Bachelor of Arts degrees in Education at The College of New Jersey. Prior to his appointment as college president, he served as Gloucester County College’s (now Rowan College) vice president of Student Services and as interim president until June 2011.

A distinguished educational leader with more than 30 years of experience in higher education as an adjunct faculty member at LaSalle University and Rutgers University, Dr. Keating has been recognized for his academic service and innovative leadership. Under his guidance, and in collaboration with the College’s stakeholders, Rowan College has seamlessly moved forward forging a premier partnership with Rowan University and affiliations with other area universities, initiating scholarship programs, expanding the campus with new construction and modernizing renovations, instituting the Center for College and Career Readiness offering high school dual enrollment programs, such as “Rowan High School Start,” and now establishing a regional college in southern New Jersey.

Dr. Keating served as a member of the the board of trustees at The College of New Jersey and was chair of the State’s College Affordability Study Commission.  He has been recognized as one of South Jersey Biz’s Executives of the Year, received the  NAACP Game Changer President’s Award and the Garden State Council Boy Scouts of America Gloucester County Distinguished Citizen Award. In 2019, he was honored with the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society’s Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction, a national accolade presented to college presidents advocating for student success and recently appointed to the Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine Community Advisory Board and the Rowan University Doctorial Advisory Board.

Gloucester; Cumberland