Sign In
Tutoring at Cumberland

Tutoring at Cumberland

Tutoring

​Tutoring and Supplemental Instruction will continue to be available to our RCSJ-​Cumberland students during the Spring semester and beyond. We are now in a virtual environment using Zoom as our videoconferencing platform. Zoom is free and can be used from a laptop or cellphone. To make an appointment with a tutor, please follow these instructions.​

  • If you would like to make the appointment yourself using Starfish:
  • If you would prefer to have the appointment made for you:
    • If you would like to simply leave your name and contact info to be contacted for an appointment, please use this link. (Use this option for Developmental Math.)
  • For drop-in STEM Supplemental Instruction (SI) courses:
    • ​On-demand tutoring in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics is available Monday-Thursday 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.​ and Friday 11 a.m. – 3 p.m. Please go to this google​ doc for a list of the Supplemental Instructors, their subjects, hours, and zoom waiting room links.
  • If you would like more assistance:
    • For STEM subjects, contact Albert Price at aprice10@rcsj.edu.
    • For subjects outside of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math, contact Ramona Pontelandolfo, at rpontelandolfo@cccnj.edu.
    • For students receiving services through the Department of Special Services, please contact Dotty Perna at dperna@cccnj.edu.
    • For English as a Second Language students, please contact Alice Soto at asoto@cccnj.edu​.
    • For the Writing Center, contact Joshua Austin at jaustin@cccnj.edu.
    • For Developmental Math, please contact Melissa Oliva at moliva@rcsj.edu.

How do I get a FREE tutor in Starfish?
Questions?  Please contact Jaime Connolly, MBA, Director III, Center for Academic and Student Success at
jconnolly@cc.rcsj.edu.​

Generalized Tutoring Center ASL2:
Assistance with course content area, as well as the following college survival skills: Organizational Skills, Time Management, Note-taking, Reading Comprehension, ​Study Skills, Test-taking Strategies, and Reducing Test Anxiety.
Mon-Thur: 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday: 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.​
(Self-scheduling available in Starfish) 

Supplemental Instruction:
Uses peer-assisted study sessions to improve student retention and success within targeted historically difficult courses. Please contact Jaime Connolly​ (jconnolly@cc.rcsj.edu)  if you are interested in becoming a Supplemental Instructor.​

Developmental Math Lab ASL4: 
Utilize this lab to do homework assignments or for testing for Developmental Math 091 and Math 094.

Drop-in Developmental Math Lab Tutoring Schedule​​​​​

The Writing Center: Get help with: Essay structure, research​ papers, and ​writing review.
Self-scheduling available in Starfish or email writingcenter@cc.rcsj.edu



How can I become a tutor? - Click here and complete this form
  • Achieve an “A” or high “B” in the course
  • Ask your professor to recommend you to Jaime Connolly:  jconnolly@cc.rcsj.edu
  • If there is a need, Jaime​ will e-mail you for an interview​

Cumberland